Skip to main content

Legacy opens the to the Sample file automatically and I can't get out of it

  1. Click on Options > Customize > 12. Other Settings.

  2. Scroll down to 12.5 Message boxes and click Turn on or off Optional Reminder Messages....

  3. Select the Messages tab.

  4. Go to When opening a Legacy File, prompt to use dialog box or create list.

  5. Select GIve me the choice how to select the file.

  6. Close the screen and click Save.


​


​

At this point you have some choices:

  • Click on File > Open File > Select the file using the Windows dialog box and browse to the family file.

  • Click on File > Open File > Have Legacy create a list of files to choose from and select the family file from the list.

  • Click here to see the article "I upgraded to the current version of Legacy and need to find and convert my family file."

  • Click on File > New File to open the Legacy Guided Startup Wizard and start a new family file, to import a PAF file or a GEDCOM from another program, or to download from FamilySearch.org, etc.


​


​

To set Legacy to always open to your preferred family file, click on Options > Customize > 1. General Settings. Next go to 1.2 Starting Family File and select Always open this file, then select your file, click Open, and Save.


​


​


​

Did this answer your question?